LS Friends & Alumni


Mission: The mission of the Foundation is to provide a vehicle through which tax-deductible gifts can be made to provide scholarships for graduates, to provide financial support to selected projects of the School and to seek private support for the enhancement of the School. As a non-profit foundation, all contributions will be tax deductible and will go entirely toward the support of the School and scholarships. The Foundation will also provide the opportunity for alumni and friends to designate a portion of their estates to assure a bright future for the Lookeba-Sickles student of today and tomorrow.
2018 School Reunion Highlights

Mr. Mike Davis, Superintendent of Lookeba-Sickles School was added to the Foundation Award list for his exemplary leadership as teacher, coach, principal, and now Superintendent of Lookeba-Sickles School. Presented by Diana Crain Watson
The prestigious Foundation Award was given to Denise Bailey Hart, a 1972 Lookeba-Sickles graduate. Denise has worked tirelessly for many years to keep the alumni mailing list up-to-date, and has also served as the Foundation Board Treasurer since its inception in 2006. Presented by Jeleta Hart Sullivan and Diana Crain Watson.

Mrs. Kathy Daugherty, music teacher, was voted by her peers to win the 2018 Teacher Award at the high school and the grade school sites. Presented by LaQuita Ruckman Dixon.
Haley Davis, daughter of Mike and Hyla Davis, and Kade Squires, son of Barry and Kim Squires, were presented the Leadership Award for outstanding leadership, scholarship, and community activities. Presented by Jeleta Hart Sullivan.
A Foundation Award was presented in memory of Wayne Smith, a 1939 Sickles graduate, who continued to be a great supporter of the school.  He was named to the Foundation Board in 2006 and contributed to its organization with his wisdom and financial support. Wayne also gave of his time and talents to many other worthy activities throughout his lifetime. His wife, Mrs. Margie  Haas-Spear Smith, also a graduate of Lookeba-Sickles, accepted the award in his honor.

The Ted King Memorial Scholarship was given to Clayton Baker. The Foundation Scholarship was awarded to Thomas Klassen, and the Wayne and Margie Smith Scholarship was presented to Preston Garner.  Each scholarship is for $600. Preston Garner and Thomas Klassen are pictured.

Recognition was also given to teachers who applied and were awarded grants to purchase needed classroom materials. The teachers named were Tammy Bates, Hyla Davis, DaNel Nix, Jennifer Brack, Jauna Born, Brandy House, Kaci Garrett, and Sara McLoud.

Continuing the legacy...
"Providing excellent educational opportunities for Lookeba-Sickles School students."